Past Florist Awards

Congratulations to the 2014 Florist of the Year winners


Celebrating the twelfth anniversary of the prestigious industry awards, florists from NSW and ACT have continued to raise the bar with their levels of professionalism and florist standards.

On Saturday 25 October, the 2014 Florist of the Year award winners were announced at the annual Flower Ball at the Le Montage, Lilyfield. Florists believe the Florist of the Year program to be highly valuable as it provides them with objective feedback which can be used to further enhance their business and remain at the top of their industry.

Both of the Florist of the Year winners each receive a trophy and advertising package to the value of $3,000. The advertising package is a great way for these florists to promote their wonderful achievement to their local community.

Sydney Markets would like to congratulate all the participating florists in the 2014 Florist of the Year program.


Paul & Elizabeth Fraser, owners of McGraths Hill Florist have been awarded with another Metropolitan Florist of the Year after taking the coveted award out in 2010.

With over 30 years of experience in the florist industry, Elizabeth understands why the winners advertising package is vital to her business, “the advertising package is a wonderful contribution and this will allow us to advertise not only locally, but online which is a strong growing area,” said Elizabeth.

McGraths Hill Florist is opened 7 days a week for 74 hours and without the help of their staff members, the store wouldn’t be in a position it is today. “Our fabulous team of 5 florists are exceptional, and without their dedication and attention tho the needs of our customers we wouldn’t have achieved much,” added Elizabeth.


Warilla Florist, located just south of Wollongong in Warilla, was awarded with the 2014 Regional Florist of the Year. For owner Dianne Hyde, along with her love of flowers and plants being the main reason she became a florist it was also to see the joy that flowers can bring to people’s lives.

Dianne has owned Warilla Florist since 1982 but sold the business the business in 1989 and went overseas and worked for 7 years. When returning to Australia, Dianne brought the business back in 1996 and has been there ever since.

Dianne clearly sees the benefit by registering her business in the Florist of the Year program, “it makes us aware of our responsibility to our customers and keeps us vigilant towards our customer’s needs,” she said.

Florist of the Month Program

The Florist of the Year Program was established in 2003 by Sydney Markets Limited with the objective to ultimately increase sales of fresh flowers by improving customer service experience at the consumer point of sale (florists).

The program is open only to shop front florists in NSW and ACT who buy from growers operating at the Sydney Flower Market, and aims to encourage regular, consistent buying and ‘best practice’ from participating florists – tools that growers can use to maintain and expand their own businesses. There is no cost to florists and the program is paid for by Sydney Markets Limited.

Participating florists are assessed by professional independent mystery shoppers, who use criteria established through industry-wide consultation. The criteria assess shop appearance, product quality and knowledge, presentation, customer service and merchandising and branding, and feedback is provided to all entrants.

To assist participating florists to grow and develop their businesses, feedback from the Mystery Shoppers are supplied to the florists confidentially.

Awards are presented to florists each month, culminating in two awards being presented for the Metropolitan and Regional ‘Florist of the Year’ being announced at the Flower Growers Group of NSW Annual Dinner Dance. The monthly award recipients receive a promotional media package to the value of $1300, features in the Sydney Markets Leader.

If you would like further information about the Florist of the Month Program, please contact (02) 9325 6200.

Previous Yearly Winners

Metropolitan Florist of the Year
2013 Flower Avenue
2012 Flower Avenue
2011 The Flower Hut
2010 McGraths Hill Florist
2009 Bunch it with Country Florist
Regional Florist of the Year
2013 Native Botanical, Cootamundra
2012 Native Botanical, Young
2011 Raymond Terrace Florist
2010 Waldon's Flower Shop
2009 Flower Bud